Editor's Picks

Campus Life

Chancellor's Professor award is highlight of Honors Convocation

April 19, 2016

School of Liberal Arts Professor Philip Goff will be honored as this year's Chancellor's Professor April 21 during the Chancellor's Academic Honors Convocation, part of IUPUI's annual recognition for achievements by faculty, staff and students.

Goff is the executive director of the Center for the Study of Religion and American Culture and a professor of religious studies and American studies.

Chancellor Nasser Paydar will host this year's annual event recognizing top achievements by IUPUI faculty, staff and students. The convocation will run from 4 to 6 p.m. in Hine Hall Auditorium. 

The convocation honors achievements in all areas of IUPUI's missions:

  • Excellence in teaching and learning
  • Excellence in research, scholarship and creative activity
  • Excellence in civic engagement
  • Excellence in diversity, collaboration and best practices

This year's convocation will include a new award category, the Charles R. Bantz Chancellor's Community Fellowship Awards.

Liberal Arts faculty members Paul Mullins and Susan Hyatt will share a $50,000 award from the Bantz Community Fellowship, based on their proposal titled "Invisible Indianapolis: Race, Heritage and Community Memory in the Circle City." School of Informatics and Computing faculty member Richard Holden will receive a $25,000 Community Scholar award for his proposal, "B-PHIT Indy: A Community Partnership for Brain Health-Promoting Information Technology."

Following are this year's Academic Honors Convocation awards and the recipients:

Chancellor's Professor                    

Philip K. Goff, School of Liberal Arts

Bantz-Petronio Translating Research Into Practice Faculty Award

Patricia J. Scott, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Robert E. Elliott, School of Engineering and Technology

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Civic Engagement (faculty)

Todd Saxton, Kelley School of Business

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Civic Engagement (community)

Burmese Center for Community Education

Chancellor's Diversity Scholar Award

Jomo Mutegi, School of Education

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Multicultural Teaching

Jonathan P. Rossing, School of Liberal Arts

Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring

Crystal H. Morton, School of Education

Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., Research Scholar Award

Anila Agha, Herron School of Art and Design

Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., Experience Excellence Award

John M. Hassell, Kelley School of Business

Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research

Jenna Tyler, School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Chancellor's Scholars

James Reiss Lucken, Fairbanks School of Public Health; Debaleena Chattopadhyay, Graduate School, Doctoral Program; Andrew L. Beardsley, Graduate School, Master's Program; Taylor Nicole Townsell, Herron School of Art and Design; Weston Bradley Wright, Honors College; Courtney Seiwert, IUPU Columbus; Rebecca K. Hite, Kelley School of Business; John A. Ferguson, Lilly Family School of Philanthropy; Elizabeth Marie Little, McKinney School of Law; Laila Al Dehailan, School of Dentistry; Jena P. David, School of Education; Nhan Hieu Do, School of Engineering and Technology; Jamah L. Wilkerson, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences; Wendy Krogg, School of Informatics and Computing; Isaiah Horne, School of Liberal Arts; Whitney Stierwalt, School of Medicine-Health Professions Program; Woody Han, School of Medicine-M.D. Program; Hailey Ahlers, School of Nursing; Ben Vickery, School of Physical Education and Tourism Management; Lauren Marianna Kenney, School of Public and Environmental Affairs; Sarah Danyelle Burris, School of Science; Stephanie Christine Chapel, School of Social Work; Jenna Gunn, University College.

Sherry Queener Graduate Student Excellence Award

Ruth Firmin, School of Science, and Nhan Hieu Do, School of Engineering and Technology

Three awards categories were recognized during the convocation and will be listed on the Academic Affairs website:

  • Prestigious External Award Recognition, or PEAR
  • Recognizing External Achievement, or REA
  • Trustees Teaching Award

Read more Campus Life stories »