Weekly Features

From the Desk of the Chancellor

Students choose leadership

April 22, 2014

Abraham Lincoln once said, “The best way to predict your future is to create it.”

That thought is embedded in the IUPUI commitment to student engagement and community involvement. It places individuals into active rather than passive roles as citizens. And it suggests that no improvement of the status quo is likely without individuals who work together for change.

Students who get involved assume a role in determining their condition and destiny. In the process, they lift the circumstance of others. I was honored to participate in a feat for such a group at the recent IUPUI Top 100 Students celebration; a salute to those who raise both scholarship and citizenship levels on campus.

Active students are not willing to wait for change. Instead they become agents of change. Another group of students that embraces that mindset serve as officers for the IUPUI Student Government. Recent undergraduate SG elections resulted in the following:

  • President: Niki DaSilva, a junior majoring in sociology with minors in business and philanthropy who will participate in the Institute on Philanthropy and Voluntary Services in Washington, D.C., this summer.
  • Vice President: Amber Goad, a Germany-born junior with a neuroscience and psychology double major and current resident assistant.
  • Treasurer: Tyler White, a senior majoring in communication with a minor in economics who coaches local youth debate teams.
  • Secretary: Charlie Meier, a junior biology major and Chancellor’s Scholar from a place called Hope -- Hope, Ind. 

Graduate Professional Student Government officers are Anthony Greco, president, a law student involved in student government since his freshman year at IUPUI; Austin C. Stanforth, vice-president, a Ph.D. candidate in applied earth sciences; Isaac Karikari, secretary, a second year Ghana native and doctoral student in the School of Social Work; Connor Norwood, treasurer, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Health Policy and Management, and Han Shih, web developer, a first-year biomedical engineering Ph.D. student.. 


All those who enroll are applauded for their life-changing decision to become part of the IUPUI family. That experience is enriched as a students’ degree of involvement rises. Humorist Will Rogers quipped, “Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.”

I applaud all IUPUI students who, on so many levels, refuse to just sit there.

Finally, I would like to thank these outgoing officers for their service, dedication, and commitment to student government at IUPUI during the 2013-2014 academic year: Whitney Dyer, USG President; Christian Hess, USG Vice President; Sharvonne Anise, GPSG Vice President; and Jeyanthi Bhaheetharan, GPSG Secretary/Treasurer. 

Comments? Write chancllr@iupui.edu.

Read more From the Desk of the Chancellor stories »