The search is underway for an associate vice chancellor for faculty diversity and inclusion

November 29, 2016

The search for an associate vice chancellor for faculty diversity and inclusion is underway to provide leadership and vision for the recruitment, retention and advancement of faculty from underrepresented groups, particularly faculty of color.

The position, announced recently by Kathy Johnson, executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, is a key member of the campus’s executive leadership team. It reports to the executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer with collaborative ties to the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

"This position will help lead efforts to recruit faculty of color to our campus who will in turn provide additional support to our students of color, leading to their successful recruitment and retention," Johnson said.

Responsibilities of the associate vice chancellor for faculty diversity and inclusion include:

  • Recruitment and retention of less-represented faculty, particularly faculty of color.
  • Expanding the pipeline of graduate students of color, particularly to IUPUI.
  • Supporting leadership, advancement and networking among underrepresented faculty.
  • Scholarship related to faculty diversity and inclusion.
  • Acting as liaison to key committees and councils.

Additionally, the associate vice chancellor will initiate programs and activities that will enhance faculty diversity and inclusion on the IUPUI campus.

Tenured faculty on the IUPUI campus with a terminal degree are invited to apply for this key academic leadership role. You can find the detailed position description and instructions for applying online. 

The search committee, chaired by Karen Dace, vice chancellor for diversity, equity and inclusion, includes:

  • Rafael Bahamonde, School of Physical Education and Tourism Management
  • Karen Bravo, McKinney School of Law
  • David Burr, School of Medicine
  • Andrea Copeland, School of Informatics and Computing
  • James Hill, School of Science
  • Willie Miller, University Library
  • Khalilah Shabazz, Multicultural Center
  • Terri Tarr, Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Joseph Tucker Edmonds, School of Liberal Arts

Read more Headlines stories »