Spotlights & Profiles

Faculty & Staff Spotlights

Employees honored for service, achievement

October 4, 2016

Employee recognition award recipients for 2016.Employees recognized at the convocation included, from left: Sharon Holland, Anne Mitchell, Jessica Davis and Pamela Clark. | PHOTOS COURTESY OF IUPUI HUMAN RESOURCES

Faculty and staff members were honored for their achievements and service at IUPUI at the 2016 Chancellor's Employee Recognition Convocation in September.

The annual event celebrates both service and achievement; employees who reach service milestones ranging from 10 to 45 years during the past year (2016) are honored, with Chancellor Nasser Paydar leading the congratulations.

The awards presented include IUPUI's significant employee honors:

Gerald L. Bepko Spirit Award winners for 2016.

From left: Julie Reagan, Landon Brothers and Etta Ward.

2016 award recipients

The Staff Council Spirit Award recognizes full-time staff who exemplify IUPUI's commitment to the city through extraordinary service and special contributions to the campus. The award is named for Gerald Bepko, the campus's third chancellor and former dean of the Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

This year's recipients included:

The Community Engagement Award was presented to Pamela L. Clark, the director of student services and admissions for the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. Clark has demonstrated her dedication to engagement through her involvement in the philanthropic culture of the campus and her community.

The award was named for Nan Bohan, who manifested the spirit of civic engagement, a central component of IUPUI's mission.

The 2016 recipients of the Irwin Experience Excellence Awards.

The staff recipients of this year's Experience Excellence Awards were Merle Illg, left, and Pam Ross.

The Experience Excellence Award recognizes faculty and staff who provide service "above and beyond the call of duty" to benefit the campus. The award is named for IUPUI's second chancellor and former dean of the School of Medicine.

This year's staff recipients included Pam D. Ross, the senior administrative secretary for the Office of Research Support for the School of Nursing, and Merle J. Illg, assistant to the dean of the School of Liberal Arts. Both Ross and Illg were honored for their service beyond the responsibilities of their basic job descriptions.

The Staff Council Scholarship Award is named for Carol Nathan, the retired associate dean of the faculties and a dedicated supporter of Staff Council during her IUPUI career. The scholarship recognizes individuals striving to expand their knowledge and fulfill academic dreams.

This year's recipients were Jessica G. Davis, director of the Office of Sustainability, and Delana Gifford, assistant to the chair of the Department of Health Sciences in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences.

The Multicultural Impact Award is presented by Staff Council, the Office of the Chancellor and the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion to employees who promote a campus climate where diversity is valued and accepted, energizes an understanding and appreciation of cultures from across the world, or champions social justice for those who work and learn at IUPUI.

This year's recipients were Anne L. Mitchell, director of Survey Research and Evaluation for the Office of Institutional Research and Decision Support, and Tiffany Kyser, assistant director of technical assistance for the Great Lakes Equity Center in the U.S. Department of Education.

Service milestones

The honor of being the longest-serving employee was Sharon K. Holland, a 45-year employee of the Office of Alumni Relations, who has been a key figure in most of IUPUI's commencement ceremonies. Also part of the 45-year employees recognized was Daniel L. McGee, a business operations support specialist in Campus Facility Services.

Five employees were recognized for 40 years of service:

Employees celebrating 40 years of service to IUPUI in 2016.

Members of the 2016 "40-year" club included, from left, Karen Black, Lois Shuman, Mary Anne Black and Cynthia Corbin.


Read more Faculty & Staff Spotlights stories »